We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Alan Thompson please sign in and let everyone know.

Matakana Island Fire Operational Review (3)

Alan Thompson made this Official Information request to Fire and Emergency New Zealand

This request has an unknown status. We're waiting for Alan Thompson to read recent responses and update the status.

From: Alan Thompson

Dear Fire and Emergency New Zealand,

On Dec 13th 2020 a fire broke out in a forestry block on Matakana Island. This fire took over a week to control and extinguish burning over 40ha of forest. In May 2021 I requested a copy of the Operational Review that FENZ undertook with respect to this fire. In early June 2021 you advised that it report was "still in its early stages ".

I further requested this report in September 2021 and in your response (24th Sept) you advised that “For a number of reasons including the impact of COVID-19, the Operational Review is not yet complete” and that “It is anticipated that this may take at least another month:”

In December 2021 I further requested a copy of this Operational Review of the Matakana Fire and in Jan 2022 you advised that the review has been substantially progressed but is not yet completed.

It is now 18 months since this significant forest fire event, some 12 months since you commenced the preparation of a review and 8 months since you advised that it be “at least another month”. It would be reasonable to assume this Operational Report is now completed.

Under the provisions of the Official Information Act I request a copy of the Operational Review of the Matakana fire that occurred on 13 Dec 2020 and which you advised would be completed by November 2021.

Thank you.

Alan Thompson
Lower Hutt

Link to this

From: Official Information Requests
Fire and Emergency New Zealand

Dear Alan Thompson  
 
I am writing to acknowledge receipt of your information request, dated 1
July 2022.   

In accordance with section 15 of the Official Information Act 1982 we will
try to respond to your request as soon as possible and in any event no
later than 20 working days after the day your request was received. If we
are unable to respond to your request by then, we will notify you of an
extension of that timeframe.

In order to gather information relevant to your request, we may make
details of your request known to Fire and Emergency personnel who are
likely to be able to assist with the identification and collation of that
information.  This will not include your identity as the requestor, unless
it is reasonably necessary to share that in order to gather information
relevant to your request.  Please let us know immediately if you have any
concerns about the sharing of details of your request, including your
identity, within Fire and Emergency.  We will contact you to discuss your
concerns and how they will affect our approach to processing your request.

We will also contact you if:

·         we require further information to clarify, or to enable us to
process, your request;

·         we need to tell a third party who you are, in order to consult
on your request or information that relates to it.

 

 

Kind regards

Official Information Team

[1][IMG][2][IMG][3][IMG][4][IMG][5][IMG][6][IMG]

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: Official Information Requests
Fire and Emergency New Zealand


Attachment image001.png
17K Download

Attachment 8296 Extension of Time.pdf
169K Download View as HTML


Kia ora Alan

 

Please see attached letter regarding your request for information.

Ngā mihi

Information Requests Team

National Headquarters, Level 12, 80 The Terrace

PO Box 2133, Wellington 6140

 

[1][FENZ request email]

[2]www.fireandemergency.nz

 

 

[3][IMG][4][IMG][5][IMG][6][IMG][7][IMG][8][IMG]

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: Official Information Requests
Fire and Emergency New Zealand


Attachment image001.png
17K Download

Attachment 8296 Response.pdf
191K Download View as HTML

Attachment 20220808 Matakana Island F3188746 final Redacted.pdf
1.7M Download View as HTML


Kia ora Alan

 

Attached is a response to your official information request.

 

Ngā mihi

 

Information Requests Team

National Headquarters, Level 12, 80 The Terrace

PO Box 2133, Wellington 6140

 

[1][FENZ request email]

[2]www.fireandemergency.nz

 

 

[3][IMG][4][IMG][5][IMG][6][IMG][7][IMG][8][IMG]

show quoted sections

Link to this

We don't know whether the most recent response to this request contains information or not – if you are Alan Thompson please sign in and let everyone know.

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Fire and Emergency New Zealand only: