Request for the disclosure of Reviewers' appointed by the Accident Compensation Corporation prior employment history with the Accident Compensation Corporation.

David Lawson made this Official Information request to Accident Compensation Corporation

Response to this request is long overdue. By law Accident Compensation Corporation should have responded by now (details and exceptions). You can complain to the Ombudsman.

From: David Lawson

Dear Accident Compensation Corporation,

I am writing to request the following Official Information from the Accident Compensation Corporation.

1.

A current list for the period 1 November 2015 through to 31 October 2016 of Reviewers names who have been contracted to, and who remain contracted with ACC for which ACC are able to contract/allocate for services under section 137 of the Accident Compensation Act 2001 the responsibility and duties of services to independently oversee the review process, inclusive of review hearing and release of a review decision.

2.

For the purposes of transpearancy and public interest, please provide alongside each reviewers name, whether each Reviewer has been previously employed by ACC, and if they have been the following additional information;

(a) the period in terms of the actual years that the Reviewer had breviously held employment with ACC,

(b) whether the Reviewer had ever been employed within the ACC legal services team, or the Office of the Complaints Investigation team, now known as the customer resolution team, and if so for what years.

(c) Please confirm for each reviewer in bands of $25,000 for the period 1 July 2015 through 30 June 2016, how much ACC remunerated either FairWay Resolution and or the Reviewer Direct for the provision of Reviewing services that each reviwer has provided services for within the period requested.

Under section 23 of the Official Information Act 1982, I respectfully request to be advised why when ACC appointed Ms Maree Hill for the purpose of conducting the review process including review hearing in matters associated with reviews 4369589, 4411587, 4066110, 4047586, 4047587, 4049595 & 4610589, it was not disclosed to me that Ms Maree Hill had a past employment history with ACC, and what departments that Ms Hill had been employed in whilst at ACC?

It would be appreciated if you could confirm whether Reviewer Ms Maree Hill was ever employed within the Corporation's Office of the Complaints Investigation Team or Legal Services team and if so for what periods in terms of actual years...i.e 1985 through 1995 etc.

It would be appreciated if you could confirm the actual years that ACC Complaints Investigators Ms Sandra Warwick, and Sheryl Nolan have been employed with ACC, and also specify the actual years that Ms Warwick and Ms Nolan have been employed within the Office of the Complaints Investigation team, which is now referred to as the Customer Resolution Team.

under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post and
I thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours faithfully,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation

Dear Mr Lawson

 

Official Information Act request

 

Thank you for your requests of 9 - 15 November 2016 requesting the
following information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

 

·         ACC’s Clinical Advisory Panel

·         Request for Official Information re ACC’s Recover Independence
Service/s Units

·         ACC policy and procedure on placing ACC claimants on a
communications plan

·         Names of the medical, vocational and medical case review
independent assessors contract to ACC

·         Request for the disclosure of Reviewers’ appointed by the
Accident Compensation Corporation prior employment history with the
Accident Compensation Corporation

·         Request for copies of ACC’s contract for services that apply to
reviewers

 

We apologise for the delay in acknowledging your requests. Due to the
impact of the North Canterbury earthquake, ACC’s Head Office was closed
over the period 14 to 23 November 2016.

 

This email is to inform you that we require an extension of time to
prepare responses to your requests until 6 March 2017. This is to allow
for consultation to make decisions on your requests, and as the requests
necessitate a search through a large quantity of information.

 

This extension complies with section 15A(1)(a) and (b) of the Act.

 

ACC will do all it can to respond to your request before the new due date,
if that is at all possible.

 

In the meantime, if you have any questions we will be happy to work with
you to resolve these. We can be contacted by email at
[1][email address].

 

 

Kind regards

 

Government Services

 

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]

Link to this

From: David Lawson

Dear Government Services,

I note your reply dated 7 December 2016 to my official information request lodged 15 November 2016.

I have also noted that you have grouped several of my independent requests together and cited that there is a requirement to search through a large quantity of information.

While I am happy to wait until the 6 March 2017 for the bulk of the information, I respectfully request that the following information requested in my request of 15 November 2016, be provided under urgency within the next 5 working days pursuant to section 12, subsection (3) of the Official Information Act 1982;

"Under section 23 of the Official Information Act 1982, I respectfully request to be advised why when ACC appointed Ms Maree Hill for the purpose of conducting the review process including review hearing in matters associated with reviews 4369589, 4411587, 4066110, 4047586, 4047587, 4049595 & 4610589, it was not disclosed to me that Ms Maree Hill had a past employment history with ACC, and what departments that Ms Hill had been employed in whilst at ACC?

It would be appreciated if you could confirm whether Reviewer Ms Maree Hill was ever employed within the Corporation's Office of the Complaints Investigation Team or Legal Services team and if so for what periods in terms of actual years...i.e 1985 through 1995 etc.

It would be appreciated if you could confirm the actual years that ACC Complaints Investigators Ms Sandra Warwick, and Sheryl Nolan have been employed with ACC, and also specify the actual years that Ms Warwick and Ms Nolan have been employed within the Office of the Complaints Investigation team, which is now referred to as the Customer Resolution Team."

With respect to this specific OIA request made on 15 November 2016, I note that the above information that I have requested with respect to Ms M Hill, Ms S Warwick and Ms S Nolan is readily held by the Corporation, and when applied to Ms Hill Ms S Warwick and Ms S Nolan is not voluminous.

I therefore request that the official information that I seek within my request dated 15 November 2016.

In line with section 12, subsection (3) of the Official Information Act 1982 I advise that the reason I have requested this Official information in respect of these ACC employed and or ACC contracted staff/persons under urgency is that it is required for the purpose of me preparing complaints to the Corporation in respect of breaches under the Act and the Code with respect to Ms Hill, Ms Warwick and Ms Nolan pertaining to provision of services (excluding treatment) that the each person has been associated with across 2015 and 2016.

I look forward to receiving the information requested under urgency within the next 5 working days so that I can complete and lodge complaints with the Corporation within the next 10 working days. The balance of the information for this specific OIA not requested under urgency today, to be provided by ACC by the 6 March 2017 as indicated by Government Services.

Thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation

Dear Mr Lawson,

 

Thank you for you emails of 12 December 2016 requesting the release of
some of the information you requested between 9-15 November 2016.

 

In the extension notice sent to you on 7 December 2016, we advised you
that we require time for consultation to make decisions on your requests.
This is in addition to the time needed to search through a large quantity
of information. The work required to respond to your requests is
considerable and so we consider the extension we have put in place until 6
March 2017 to be appropriate in the circumstances.

 

However, we note that there is similar information regarding communication
plans and the use of care indicators already on the fyi.org.nz website,
which you may find useful in the mean time.

 

The following link contains our response to your request of 9 March 2016,
which included a request for information on communication plans (refer to
response to request four):

 

[1]https://fyi.org.nz/request/3731-intricat...

 

The following link also covers the topic of communication plans:

 

[2]https://fyi.org.nz/request/3314-acc-and-...

 

We also refer you to the following link for information on care
indicators:

 

[3]https://fyi.org.nz/request/1888-care-ind...

 

 

Kind regards,

 

Government Services

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

References

Visible links
1. https://fyi.org.nz/request/3731-intricat...
2. https://fyi.org.nz/request/3314-acc-and-...
3. https://fyi.org.nz/request/1888-care-ind...

Link to this

From: David Lawson

Dear Government Services,

Thank you for your correspondence dated 7th and 16th December 2016 responding to my specific and independant OIA requests of 15 November 2016 which read as follows and I quote from https://fyi.org.nz/request/4946-request-...

"From: David Lawson

November 15, 2016

Dear Accident Compensation Corporation,

I am writing to request the following Official Information from the Accident Compensation Corporation.

1.

A current list for the period 1 November 2015 through to 31 October 2016 of Reviewers names who have been contracted to, and who remain contracted with ACC for which ACC are able to contract/allocate for services under section 137 of the Accident Compensation Act 2001 the responsibility and duties of services to independently oversee the review process, inclusive of review hearing and release of a review decision.

2.

For the purposes of transpearancy and public interest, please provide alongside each reviewers name, whether each Reviewer has been previously employed by ACC, and if they have been the following additional information;

(a) the period in terms of the actual years that the Reviewer had breviously held employment with ACC,

(b) whether the Reviewer had ever been employed within the ACC legal services team, or the Office of the Complaints Investigation team, now known as the customer resolution team, and if so for what years.

(c) Please confirm for each reviewer in bands of $25,000 for the period 1 July 2015 through 30 June 2016, how much ACC remunerated either FairWay Resolution and or the Reviewer Direct for the provision of Reviewing services that each reviwer has provided services for within the period requested.

Under section 23 of the Official Information Act 1982, I respectfully request to be advised why when ACC appointed Ms Maree Hill for the purpose of conducting the review process including review hearing in matters associated with reviews 4369589, 4411587, 4066110, 4047586, 4047587, 4049595 & 4610589, it was not disclosed to me that Ms Maree Hill had a past employment history with ACC, and what departments that Ms Hill had been employed in whilst at ACC?

It would be appreciated if you could confirm whether Reviewer Ms Maree Hill was ever employed within the Corporation's Office of the Complaints Investigation Team or Legal Services team and if so for what periods in terms of actual years...i.e 1985 through 1995 etc.

It would be appreciated if you could confirm the actual years that ACC Complaints Investigators Ms Sandra Warwick, and Sheryl Nolan have been employed with ACC, and also specify the actual years that Ms Warwick and Ms Nolan have been employed within the Office of the Complaints Investigation team, which is now referred to as the Customer Resolution Team.

under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post and
I thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours faithfully,

David Lawson"

I am looking forward to receiving this specific official information by the end of business close today, being the 6 March 2017, in line with the OIA section 15 (1) (a) and (b) extension ACC Government Services advised on 7th December 2016 to allow for ACC Government Services to the supply to me the official information requested in my specific OIA request of 15 November 2016 through the FYI website at https://fyi.org.nz/request/4946-request-... and requoted above in todays follow up communication.

As per my original OIA request of 15 November 2016, under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post.

I thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation


Attachment RESPONSE 1.pdf
2.0M Download View as HTML

Attachment DOCUMENTS FOR RELEASE.pdf
6.7M Download View as HTML


Dear Mr Lawson

 

Please find attached our response to your requests for information under
the Official Information Act 1982, dated 9, 13 and 15 November 2016.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Government Services

 

 

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

Link to this

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Accident Compensation Corporation only: