Request for copies of ACC's contract for services that apply to reviewers.

David Lawson made this Official Information request to Accident Compensation Corporation

Response to this request is long overdue. By law Accident Compensation Corporation should have responded by now (details and exceptions). You can complain to the Ombudsman.

From: David Lawson

Dear Accident Compensation Corporation,

It would be appreciated if you could supply me under the Official Information Act 1982, a copy of the full contract for services agreement/contract, and any amendment to the contracts for services agreement/contract that the Accident Compensation Corporation had, and has in place for the following FairWay Resolution Reviewers which the Corporation appoints to act as Reviewers in ACC matters primarily through FairWay Resolution;

1. Ms M Hill, between the period 25 March 2015 and 30 July 2016
2. Ms L.Clark, between the period 25 July 2016 and present.

My interest does not lie with matters of renumeration within the contract, and I am happy for renumeration details and information to be redacted from the information provided.

Please do however confirm whether either of the reviewers have contractual arrangements with the Corporation, and are remunerated by the Corporation for any other services contracted to the Accident Compensation Corporation that fall outside of the Reviewers ACC-Reviewer contract for services.

An example of this may be that one of the Reviewers is remunerated for the development, maintenance and updating of FairWay Policy, Resource Material and Documentation, such as the FairWay Reviewers Training Manual, and or the FairWay Benchbook,

I seem to recall that FairWay Resolution had advised the Ombudsman that a FairWay Reviewer that was also legally qualified had been responsible for the development and maintenance of the FairWay Benchbook, and I would like to be advised as to whether ACC remunerated the FairWay Reviewer concerned, and if so, to also be advised the name of all of the Reviewers that have been remunerated by ACC for aiding in the maintenance and development of the FairWay Benchbook, together with being provided a copy of the Reviewers and ACC's contract for services for these services.

Under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post

I thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours faithfully,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation

Dear Mr Lawson

 

Official Information Act request

 

Thank you for your requests of 9 - 15 November 2016 requesting the
following information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

 

·         ACC’s Clinical Advisory Panel

·         Request for Official Information re ACC’s Recover Independence
Service/s Units

·         ACC policy and procedure on placing ACC claimants on a
communications plan

·         Names of the medical, vocational and medical case review
independent assessors contract to ACC

·         Request for the disclosure of Reviewers’ appointed by the
Accident Compensation Corporation prior employment history with the
Accident Compensation Corporation

·         Request for copies of ACC’s contract for services that apply to
reviewers

 

We apologise for the delay in acknowledging your requests. Due to the
impact of the North Canterbury earthquake, ACC’s Head Office was closed
over the period 14 to 23 November 2016.

 

This email is to inform you that we require an extension of time to
prepare responses to your requests until 6 March 2017. This is to allow
for consultation to make decisions on your requests, and as the requests
necessitate a search through a large quantity of information.

 

This extension complies with section 15A(1)(a) and (b) of the Act.

 

ACC will do all it can to respond to your request before the new due date,
if that is at all possible.

 

In the meantime, if you have any questions we will be happy to work with
you to resolve these. We can be contacted by email at
[1][email address].

 

 

Kind regards

 

Government Services

 

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

References

Visible links
1. mailto:[email address]

Link to this

From: David Lawson

Dear Government Services,

I note your reply dated 7 December 2016 to my official information request lodged 15 November 2016.

I have also noted that you have grouped several of my independent requests together and cited that there is a requirement to search through a large quantity of information.

With respect to this specific OIA request made on 15 November 2016, I note that the information that I have requested with respect to Ms M Hill and Ms L Clark is readily held by the Corporation, and when applied to Ms Hill and Ms L Clark is not voluminous.

I therefore request that the official information that I seek within my request dated 15 November 2016, be provided in full for Ms M Hill and Ms L Clark under urgency within the next 5 working days, pursuant to section 12 subsection (3) of the Official Information Act, with the balance of the official information requested for the balance of reviewers being provided by the 6 March 2017 as you have advised.

In line with section 12, subsection (3) of the Official Information Act 1982 I advise that the reason I have requested this Official information in respect of these two reviewers under urgency is that it is required for the purpose of me preparing complaints to the Corporation in respect of breaches under the Act and the Code with respect to Ms Hill and Ms L Clark's provision of services as reviewers across 2015 and 2016.

I look forward to receiving the information requested under urgency within the next 5 working days so that I can complete and lodge my complaints with the Corporation within the next 10 working days. The balance of the information for the remaining reviewers to be provided by the 6 March 2017 as indicated.

Thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation

Dear Mr Lawson,

 

Thank you for you emails of 12 December 2016 requesting the release of
some of the information you requested between 9-15 November 2016.

 

In the extension notice sent to you on 7 December 2016, we advised you
that we require time for consultation to make decisions on your requests.
This is in addition to the time needed to search through a large quantity
of information. The work required to respond to your requests is
considerable and so we consider the extension we have put in place until 6
March 2017 to be appropriate in the circumstances.

 

However, we note that there is similar information regarding communication
plans and the use of care indicators already on the fyi.org.nz website,
which you may find useful in the mean time.

 

The following link contains our response to your request of 9 March 2016,
which included a request for information on communication plans (refer to
response to request four):

 

[1]https://fyi.org.nz/request/3731-intricat...

 

The following link also covers the topic of communication plans:

 

[2]https://fyi.org.nz/request/3314-acc-and-...

 

We also refer you to the following link for information on care
indicators:

 

[3]https://fyi.org.nz/request/1888-care-ind...

 

 

Kind regards,

 

Government Services

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

References

Visible links
1. https://fyi.org.nz/request/3731-intricat...
2. https://fyi.org.nz/request/3314-acc-and-...
3. https://fyi.org.nz/request/1888-care-ind...

Link to this

From: David Lawson

Dear Government Services,

Thank you for your correspondence dated 7th and 16th December 2016 responding to my specific OIA requests of 15 November 2016 which read as follows and I quote;

"From: David Lawson

November 15, 2016

Dear Accident Compensation Corporation,

It would be appreciated if you could supply me under the Official Information Act 1982, a copy of the full contract for services agreement/contract, and any amendment to the contracts for services agreement/contract that the Accident Compensation Corporation had, and has in place for the following FairWay Resolution Reviewers which the Corporation appoints to act as Reviewers in ACC matters primarily through FairWay Resolution;

1. Ms M Hill, between the period 25 March 2015 and 30 July 2016
2. Ms L.Clark, between the period 25 July 2016 and present.

My interest does not lie with matters of renumeration within the contract, and I am happy for renumeration details and information to be redacted from the information provided.

Please do however confirm whether either of the reviewers have contractual arrangements with the Corporation, and are remunerated by the Corporation for any other services contracted to the Accident Compensation Corporation that fall outside of the Reviewers ACC-Reviewer contract for services.

An example of this may be that one of the Reviewers is remunerated for the development, maintenance and updating of FairWay Policy, Resource Material and Documentation, such as the FairWay Reviewers Training Manual, and or the FairWay Benchbook,

I seem to recall that FairWay Resolution had advised the Ombudsman that a FairWay Reviewer that was also legally qualified had been responsible for the development and maintenance of the FairWay Benchbook, and I would like to be advised as to whether ACC remunerated the FairWay Reviewer concerned, and if so, to also be advised the name of all of the Reviewers that have been remunerated by ACC for aiding in the maintenance and development of the FairWay Benchbook, together with being provided a copy of the Reviewers and ACC's contract for services for these services.

Under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post

I thank you for your time and assistance.

Yours faithfully,

David Lawson"

I am looking forward to receiving copies of this specific official information by the end of business close today, being the 6 March 2017, in line with the OIA section 15 (1) (a) and (b) extension ACC Government Services advised on 7th December 2016 to allow for ACC Government Services to the supply to me the official information requested in my specific OIA request of 9 November 2016.

I thank you for your time and assistance and reconfirm in line with my original OIA request of 9 November 2016, under s16(2) of the Official Information Act, my preferred way of receiving a response is by email to the address from which ACC received the original request, not by post.

Yours sincerely,

David Lawson

Link to this

From: Government Services
Accident Compensation Corporation


Attachment RESPONSE 1.pdf
2.0M Download View as HTML

Attachment DOCUMENTS FOR RELEASE.pdf
6.7M Download View as HTML


Dear Mr Lawson

 

Please find attached our response to your requests for information under
the Official Information Act 1982, dated 9, 13 and 15 November 2016.

 

Yours sincerely

 

Government Services

 

 

 

Disclaimer:

"This message and any attachments may contain confidential and privileged
information. If you believe you have received this email in error, please
advise us immediately by return email or telephone and then delete this
email together with all attachments. If you are not the intended
recipient, you are not authorised to use or copy this message or any
attachments or disclose the contents to any other person."

Link to this

Things to do with this request

Anyone:
Accident Compensation Corporation only: