Citizenship status of candidates preliminarily elected to the 53rd Parliament of New Zealand

Sam Hill made this Official Information request to Department of Internal Affairs

The request was partially successful.

From: Sam Hill

Dear Department of Internal Affairs,

There is a legal requirement of New Zealand citizenship for all candidates in a New Zealand general election.

Please advise of the citizenship status (including dual citizenship) of the following candidates who have been preliminarily elected to the 53rd Parliament of New Zealand.

New Zealand Labour Party

Jacinda Ardern
Kelvin Davis
Grant Robertson
Phil Twyford
Megan Woods
Chris Hipkins
Andrew Little
Carmel Sepuloni
David Parker
Nanaia Mahuta
Trevor Mallard
Stuart Nash
Jenny Salesa
Damien O'Connor
Kris Faafoi
David Clark
Ayesha Verrall
Peeni Henare
Willie Jackson
William Sio
Poto Williams
Vanushi Walters
Michael Wood
Adrian Rurawhe
Kiri Allan
Kieran McAnulty
Louisa Wall
Meka Whaitiri
Rino Tirikatene
Camilla Belich
Priyanca Radhakrishnan
Jan Tinetti
Deborah Russell
Marja Lubeck
Angie Warren-Clark
Willow-Jean Prime
Tamati Coffey
Naisi Chen
Jo Luxton
Jamie Strange
Liz Craig
Ibrahim Omer
Duncan Webb
Anahila Kanongata'a-Suisuiki
Ginny Andersen
Rachel Brooking
Paul Eagle
Helen White
Barbara Edmonds
Angela Roberts
Shanan Halbert
Neru Leavasa
Tracey McLellan
Steph Lewis
Rachel Boyack
Arena Williams
Ingrid Leary
Sarah Pallett
Gaurav Sharma
Terisa Ngobi
Glen Bennett
Greg O'Connor
Tangi Utikere
Anna Lorck

New Zealand National Party

Judith Collins
Gerry Brownlee
Paul Goldsmith
Simon Bridges
Shane Reti
Todd McClay
Chris Bishop
Todd Muller
Louise Upston
Scott Simpson
David Bennett
Michael Woodhouse
Nicola Willis
Jacqui Dean
Mark Mitchell
Melissa Lee
Andrew Bayly
Nick Smith
Maureen Pugh
Barbara Kuriger
Matthew Doocey
Stuart Smith
Denise Lee
Simon O'Connor
Simeon Brown
Ian McKelvie
Erica Stanford
Matt King
Chris Penk
Tim van de Molen
Nicola Grigg
Christopher Luxon
Joseph Mooney
Penny Simmonds
Simon Watts

ACT New Zealand

David Seymour
Brooke van Velden
Nicole McKee
Chris Baillie
Simon Court
James McDowall
Karen Chhour
Mark Cameron
Toni Severin
Damien Smith

Green Party of Aotearoa New Zealand

Marama Davidson
James Shaw
Chloe Swarbrick
Julie Anne Genter
Jan Logie
Eugenie Sage
Golriz Ghahraman
Teanau Tuiono
Elizabeth Kerekere
Ricardo Menéndez March

Māori Party

Rawiri Waititi

Yours faithfully,

Sam Hill

Link to this

From: OIA
Department of Internal Affairs

Tēnā koe Sam,

Thank you for your OIA request to the Department of Internal Affairs (included with this email)

As the information you have requested confirming the eligibility of elected officials is believed to be more closely related to the functions of the Electoral Commission, we are transferring your request to that agency for response, in accordance with section 14(b)(ii) of the Official Information Act 1982.

You can expect to hear from the receiving agency shortly in regard to your request. 
If you would like to contact them directly, you are able to email them at the following addresses:

The Electoral Commission: [email address]

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision to transfer.  Information about how to make a complaint is available at or Freephone 0800 802 602.  

Ngā mihi,

Michelle Reed | Lead Advisor – Official Correspondence 
Te Urungi - Organisational Strategy and Performance
Te Tari Taiwhenua - The Department of Internal Affairs
45 Pipitea St | PO Box 805, Wellington 6140, New Zealand |

show quoted sections

Link to this

From: Kristina Temel

Attachment response docx.pdf
203K Download View as HTML

Kia ora Sam,

A response to your Official Information Act request is attached.

Ngā mihi

Kristina Temel

Kristina Temel | Manager, Legal and Policy | Electoral Commission | Te Kaitiaki Take Kōwhiri  
PO Box 3220 | Level 10, 34 – 42 Manners Street | Wellington | 6140
Phone +64 4 806 3506 | |

show quoted sections

Link to this

Things to do with this request

Department of Internal Affairs only: