This is an HTML version of an attachment to the Official Information request 'Minerva Models of Loss in Canterbury'.

31 July 2020 
Mr Preston 
Dear Mr J Preston 
Official Information Act 1982 Request  
Thank  you  for  your  request  for  information  received  on  8  June  2020.  You  requested  that  the 
Earthquake  Commission  (EQC)  make  available  to  you  the  following  information  under  the  Official 
Information Act 1982: 
“copies and recollections of all models of loss produced using the Minerva system for 
Christchurch and Canterbury between 01 January 2005 and 03 September 2010.
In response to your request we have spoken to members of our Research and Resilience team, and 
Risk  Modelling  Team  and  have  confirmed  that  we  are  unable  to  provide  models  of  loss  from  the 
Minerva system for Christchurch and Canterbury between 01 January 2005 and 03 September 2010. 
After speaking with past and present employees of EQC, I can confirm that we are aware that EQC 
did  carry  out  work  to  understand  the  seismic  hazard  in  the  Canterbury  Region,  however  as  this 
information  is  historic,  despite  our  reasonable  efforts,  we  have  been  unable  to  locate  the  reports 
associated with this. 
As such at this time we will be refusing your request for information under Section 18(e) of the OIA, 
that  the  information  you  have  requested,  despite  our  reasonable  efforts  to  locate  it,  cannot  be 
found.  We undertake to provide this information to you if it is located.  
This response completes your request for information. You have the right to ask the Ombudsman to 
investigate and review my decision. The Ombudsman can be contacted at PO Box 10 152, Wellington 
6143, or on Freephone 0800 802 602, or at 
Yours sincerely 
Sally Morrison 
Principal Advisor 
Earthquake Commission 
Corporate Mail:  PO Box 790, Wellington 6140 
Level 11, Majestic Centre 
 Claims Mail: PO Box 311, Wellington 6140 
100 Willis Street 
Telephone:  0800-326-243 Fax: (04) 978-6431 
Wellington 6011, New Zealand