This is an HTML version of an attachment to the Official Information request 'Lay Member of Registration Panel- OIA request'.

29 April 2020 
John Luke  
[FYI request #12634 email] 
Tēnā koe John 
Thank  you  for  your  request  for  information  under  the  Official  Information  Act  with  respect  to  the 
constituency of our committees and panels.  I can advise as follows. 
1.  How many committee or sub-committee the Council current have that involved lay members. 
The only one I found online is the Lay Member of Registration Panel, are there anything else? If 
there is one or more, please provide the current lay member's bio, and when their current term 

The lay members in the committees in our Professional Responsibility area of the Teaching Council are 
as follows: 
A.  Complaints Assessment Committee 
Barbara Gilray 
Barbara is a qualified social worker and principal advisor with the Social Workers Registration Board. Her 
background as  a  social  worker  and  oversight  of  competence  with  the  SWRB  means  she  brings  many 
important and relevant skills to the CAC process and the teaching profession. Barbara is of Ngati Porou 
descent and she is conversant in Te Reo Māori.  Current contract expires 1/12/2021 
Gail Gibson 
Gail is a retired Police Officer, leaving Police after 37 years at the rank of Superintendent, having carried 
out  many  and  varied  roles,  including  frontline  policing,  training  and  management.   She  is  now  self-
employed  and  has  worked  for  Children’s  Action  Plan  with  MSD  as  well  as  a  range  of  other 
organisations.  She is currently working with Massey University as a Relationship Manager and is the 
Chair of Governance Committee for Adult Learning Support Nelson.  Contract expires 1/12/2022 
Peter Cooke 
Peter  has  extensive  experience  in  proposing  and  reviewing  professional  standards.  He  has  been  a 
member of numerous local and national pharmacy and health sector advisory committees. He has sat 
alongside a District Court Judge on two Pharmacy Boards of Appeal and was appointed as a member of 
the Professional Conduct Committee of the Pharmacy Council of New Zealand, investigating complaints 
and  reports  of  misconduct  by  New  Zealand  registered  pharmacists.  Peter  is  a  Justice  of  the 
Peace.  Contract expires 1/2/2022 
Rachel Hansen 
Rachel is a Communications and Research Consultant with the Advertising Standards Authority (ASA) and 
the New Zealand Press Council. She is the Director of Good Talks, which offers workshops, seminars and 
talks  for  organisations,  schools,  parents  and  youth.  Rachel  has  previously  worked  as  an  Analyst, 

Recruitment Coordinator and Programme Manager and was a member of the Community Birth Services 
Trust Board and Chair of a farmer’s market.  Contract expires 31/03/2021 
Tania King  
Tania  is  currently  the  Chief  Operating  Officer  for  the  New  Zealand  International  Commercial  Pilot 
Academy.  Tania was in the secondary school sector for over 20 years and was the Principal at Whanganui 
Girls' College. She has held various senior management positions, is passionate about the delivery of 
quality education through appropriate conduct and competencies.   Contract expires 1/2/2022 
B.  Impairment Committee 
Rachel Seale – retired Nurse.  Current contract expires 30/09/2022. 
In the Registrations area of the Teaching Council, the lay committee members are as follows: 
C.  Registration Panel  
For further information about our Registration Panel and its functions, please see here  This site has details about how lay 
members are appointed.   
At present, this panel currently has two lay members and ten registered teacher members. There is no 
differentiation between a registered teacher member and lay member in terms of their duties 
undertaken.  The two lay members are: 
Alison Hughes 
Ali Hughes' background includes 30 years in the education sector; both senior secondary and tertiary, 
and as a provider of educator professional development services as CEO of CORE Education. Ali is now 
leading the Learner Experience Team for TANZ eCampus, a collaboration between eight NZ tertiary 
colleges to deliver online learning across NZ. She is based on Ōtautahi, Christchurch. Current contract 
expires 31/10/22. 
Steve Elers 
Dr Elers (Ngati Kauwhata) is a tertiary educator from Palmerston North and is employed as a senior 
lecturer at Massey University's School of Communication, Journalism and Marketing. He has an active 
interest in Māori education and his second master's degree is in educational leadership. Dr Elers has 
studied at universities in New Zealand and Australia and he is a former police officer (Western 
Australia). Current contract expires 31/10/20.  
2.  I would like to know the current lay member of the Registration Panel and his/her bio, how 
much the lay member been paid for attend meeting and are there any benefits he/she 
received. How the Council call for public express of interest to the Registration Panel and when 
the current lay member's term expired.  

Please see above for the biography and expiry of term of the lay members of the Registration Panel.   
Please note that all Registration Panel members are external to and are not employees of the Teaching 
Council of Aotearoa.  The Council pays all Panel members a daily meeting fee for their services as 
Member meeting fee: $385.00 
Member Preparation Fee (2 hours for work that takes 4 hours): $192.50  

Member (Chair of meeting): $475.00 
Member (Chair of meeting) Preparation Fee (2 hours for work that takes 4 hours): $237.50  
This daily rate is paid by Teaching Council to the Member’s institution/school/centre or company. The 
Member’s institution/school/centre or company make the claim for the daily rate to reimburse their costs 
of releasing the Member to contribute to the Panel process.  Members individual y claim for related 
expenses such as taxis, parking, private car use which is then reimbursed by the Council.  Panel 
members do not receive any additional benefits for the provision of their services.  
The Council calls for public expressions of interest to the Registration Panel by advertisement on its 
website and newsletter when new members are required.  Registered teachers can be nominated for 
membership onto the Registration Panel and interested lay members can make an application for 
membership.  Please refer to the above link for more details, including position descriptions.   
Members are appointed based on their individual knowledge, expertise and personal attributes, not on 
the basis of their membership or association with any one or more organisations. 
Members of the Panel hold contracts for a period of up to three years. Panel members are either on a 
two year or three-year contract. Members may have their appointments extended for up to three years 
at a time, for a maximum of six consecutive years. 
I hope this satisfies your enquiry. Please note that no information has been withheld from you.  If you 
wish to discuss this response with us, please feel free to contact Sandra Kelman, Government Relations 
& Information Manager who may be able to provide further assistance.  Her email address is 
[email address].  
You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this response. Information 
about how to make a complaint is available at or freephone 0800 802 
Nāku noa, nā  
Pauline Barnes 
Deputy Chief Executive, Professional Services