UNIVERSITY OF CANTERBURY



LIST OF COUNCIL MEMBERS

2012

Gazette	Council Members First Current Term			
Constitution		Appointed	Appointed	Ending
3 (a)	Four Persons Appointed by the Minister			
	Ms Catherine Drayton	2009	2009	05/2013
	Mr Kiki Maoate	2009	2009	05/2013
	Ms Sue McCormack	2009	2009	05/2013
	Ms Wendy Ritchie	2005	2009	03/2013
3 (b)	Vice-Chancellor			
	Dr Rod Carr	2009	02/2009	02/2014
	Three Members of the Academic Stat	f		
3 (c)	Professor Simon Kemp	2011	2011	12/2014
3 (d)	Associate Professor Euan Mason	2009	2009	12/2012
3 (d)	Dr Andy Pratt	2011	2011	12/2014
3 (e)	One Member of the General Staff			
	Mr Michael R Shurety	2003	2011	12/2014
3 (f)	Two Students			
	Ms Erin Jackson	2012	2012	12/2012
	Mr Hamish Drake	2012	2012	12/2012
3 (g)	One Member Appointed in Consultat			
	Mr Tony Sewell	2010	2010	12/2014
3 (h)	One Member Appointed in Consultat		NZ Council of	Trade Unions
	Mr David Ivory	2009	11/2009	12/2014
3 (i)	One Member Appointed Following Consultation with Ngai Tahu			
	Ms Sacha McMeeking	07/2008	07/2010	07/2014
3 (j)	Two Members Appointed by the Council			
	His Honour Judge Colin Doherty	2005	2005	12/2013
	Mr Peter Ballantyne	2012	2012	12/2014
3 (k)	Four Graduates Elected by the Court of Convocation			
	Mr Trevor J McIntyre	2005	2005	12/2012
	Mr Duncan Webb	2011	2011	12/2014
	Mr Rex Williams	2006	2006	12/2012
	Dr L John Wood	2008	2011	12/2014

As at January 2012

University of Canterbury Council Meeting

Wednesday 30 May 2012

Voting on the Change Proposals

There are 20 members of the University Council (see attached sheet) and there were three apologies for the meeting: Judge Colin Doherty; Mr Kiki Maoate and Mr Rex Williams.

Management Science Change Proposal

For - 9	Against - 7	Abstained – 1
Mr Peter Ballantyne	Mr David Ivory	Dr Duncan Webb
Dr Rod Carr	Professor Simon Kemp	
Mr Hamish Drake	Ms Sue McCormack	
Ms Catherine Drayton	Ms Sacha McMeeking	
Ms Erin Jackson	Associate Professor Euan Mason	
Mr Trevor McIntyre	Dr Andy Pratt	
Ms Wendy Ritchie	Mr Michael Shurety	
Mr Tony Sewell		
Dr John Wood		

Carried

Cultural Studies Change Proposal

For – 7	Against - 8	Abstained – 2
Mr Peter Ballantyne	Mr Hamish Drake	Ms Sue McCormack
Dr Rod Carr	Mr David Ivory	Dr Duncan Webb
Ms Catherine Drayton	Ms Erin Jackson	
Mr Trevor McIntyre	Professor Simon Kemp	
Ms Wendy Ritchie	Ms Sacha McMeeking	
Mr Tony Sewell	Associate Professor Euan Mason	
Dr John Wood	Dr Andy Pratt	
	Mr Michael Shurety	

Lost

American Studies Change Proposal

For - 8	Against - 8	Abstained – 1
Mr Peter Ballantyne	Mr Hamish Drake	Dr Duncan Webb
Dr Rod Carr	Mr David Ivory	
Ms Catherine Drayton	Ms Erin Jackson	
Ms Sue McCormack	Professor Simon Kemp	
Mr Trevor McIntyre	Ms Sacha McMeeking	
Ms Wendy Ritchie	Associate Professor Euan Mason	
Mr Tony Sewell	Dr Andy Pratt	
Dr John Wood	Mr Michael Shurety	

The Chancellor used his further vote in the event of a tie to support the motion, which was Carried.

Theatre and Film Studies Change Proposal

For - 8	Against - 9	Abstained – 0
Mr Peter Ballantyne	Mr Hamish Drake	
Dr Rod Carr	Mr David Ivory	
Ms Catherine Drayton	Ms Erin Jackson	
Ms Sue McCormack	Professor Simon Kemp	
Mr Trevor McIntyre	Ms Sacha McMeeking	
Ms Wendy Ritchie	Associate Professor Euan Mason	
Mr Tony Sewell	Dr Andy Pratt	
Dr John Wood	Mr Michael Shurety	
	Dr Duncan Webb	

Lost