

19 February 2025

Aaron via FYI.org.nz fyi-request-29846-29e8f2f4@requests.fyi.org.nz

45 Pipitea Street, Thorndon, Wellington 6011
PO Box 805, Wellington
Phone: 04 495 7200

Email: OIA@dia.govt.nz Website: dia.govt.nz

Tēnā koe Aaron,

Your Official Information Act 1982 request, reference OIA 2425-0695

I am responding to your email of 23 January 2025, to the Department of Internal Affairs (the Department) requesting the following under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

I am requesting the names of the members on the Lottery Grants Board and the organization they work for if applicable. I would like the scope to cover the last 5 years.

Response to your request

The New Zealand Lottery Grants Board (the Board) was established by section 116A of the Gaming and Lotteries Act 1977. The legalisation specifies that the Board will consist of:

- the Minister of Internal Affairs, as the presiding member of the Board;
- the Prime Minister, or their representative;
- the Leader of the Opposition, or their representative; and
- three persons appointed by the Governor-General, having regard to the appointees' knowledge, skills, and experience relating to the functions and powers of the Board.

Please find attached, at Appendix A, a list of Board members for the period 2021 to 2025.

Some years have more members listed due to new members being appointed to fill vacancies. The Minister of Internal Affairs, the Prime Minister, and the Leader of the opposition are listed as ex officio members, with no date of original appointment, or expiry date of present term. This is because an ex officio member is a member of a body who is part of it by virtue of holding another office.

I am withholding the information in scope of your request seeking the employment details of individuals under section 9(2)(a) of the Act, to protect the privacy of natural persons.

Accessing the Ombudsman

You have the right to seek an investigation and review of my decision by the Office of the Ombudsman. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Proactive release

We intend to publish our response to your request on our website at: www.dia.govt.nz/Official-Information-Act-Requests-2. This letter, with your personal details removed, will be published in its entirety. Publishing responses increases the availability of information to the public and is consistent with the Act's purpose of enabling more effective participation in the making and administration of laws and policies and promoting the accountability of Ministers and officials.

Nāku noa, nā

Jeremy Cauchi

Director, Ministerial and Monitoring

Tung Coulis



Appendix A: Lottery Grants Board Membership for the period 2021 to 2025

Role	Name	Date of original
		appointment
Presiding Member	Hon Jan Tinetti	Ex Officio
The Prime Minister or	Hon Priyanca	Ex Officio
their representative	Radhakrishnan	
Leader of the Opposition	Simon O'Connor MP	Ex Officio
or their representative		
Member	Khoa Truong Nguyen	8 September 2015
Member	Maxine Khrona	1 May 2017
	Shortland	
Member	Sumati Govind	20 July 2020

Role	Name	Date of original appointment
Presiding Member	Hon Jan Tinetti	Ex Officio
The Prime Minister or	Hon Priyanca	Ex Officio
their representative	Radhakrishnan	
Leader of the Opposition	Simon O'Connor MP	Ex Officio
or their representative		
Member	Khoa Truong Nguyen	8 September 2015
Member (resigned on 9	Maxine Khrona	1 May 2017
January 2022)	Shortland	
Member	Sumati Govind	20 July 2020
Member	Colleen Tuuta	1 September 2022
Member	Antonina (Toni) Grant	1 August 2022

Role	Name	Date of original
		appointment
Presiding Member	Hon Barbara Edmonds	Ex Officio
The Prime Minister or	Hon Priyanca	Ex Officio
their representative	Radhakrishnan	
Leader of the Opposition	Simon O'Connor MP	Ex Officio
or their representative		
Member	Sumati Govind	20 July 2020
Member	Colleen Tuuta	1 September 2022
Member	Antonina (Toni) Grant	1 August 2022
Member	Karen Coutts	10 July 2023

Role	Name	Date of original
		appointment
Presiding Member	Hon Brooke van Velden	Ex Officio
The Prime Minister or	Hon Louise Upston	Ex Officio
their representative		
Leader of the	Lemaunga Lydia Sosene	Ex Officio
Opposition or their	MP	
representative		
Member	Sumati Govind	20 July 2020
Member	Colleen Tuuta	1 September 2022
Member	Karen Coutts	10 July 2023
Member	Garth Clarricoats	7 October 2024

Role	Name	Date of original appointment
Presiding Member (Minister of Internal Affairs)	Hon Brooke van Velden	Ex Officio
The Prime Minister or their representative	Hon Louise Upston	Ex Officio
Leader of the Opposition or their representative	Lemaunga Lydia Sosene MP	Ex Officio
Member	Colleen Tuuta	1 September 2022
Member	Karen Coutts	10 July 2023
Member	Garth Clarricoats	7 October 2024