Manatū Taonga Ministry for Culture & Heritage

9 September 2024

DOIA24/134

John Luke

fyi-request-28114-7b6144cf@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

I refer to your request received on 19 August 2024, which has been considered under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA). You requested the following information about the Ministry's call for nominations for the New Zealand Film Commission:

- 1. How were public nominations called, and on what platforms?
- 2. How many applications have been received from the public?
- 3. How many applications have been received from other nominating agencies?
- 4. How many applicants have been shortlisted?
- 5. How many applicants have been interviewed?

The New Zealand Film Commission (NZFC) currently has eight members. The appointment of Graeme Mason was made due to the resignation of Alastair Carruthers, former Chair of the NZFC.

Appointments to the NZFC are made in accordance with section 3 of the New Zealand Film Commission Act 1978 and the Crown Entities Act 2004. A public call for nominations is not required under these Acts and was not conducted in the most recent round of appointments. No nominations were received from the public; however, nominations were received from Government nominating agencies and from caucus colleagues. Candidates were compiled by searching the Manatū Taonga register of nominations (which includes members of the public who have expressed interest in being a Crown board member), seeking nominations from Government population agencies and caucus colleagues. We received 10 nominations from the population agencies for this position. A list of five candidates was compiled and one candidate was interviewed.

If you wish to discuss this response with us, please feel free to contact <a href="mailto:oia@mch.govt.nz">oia@mch.govt.nz</a>.

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this response. Information about how to make a complaint is available via www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Nāku noa. nā

**Emily Fabling** 

Pou Mataaho o Te Aka - Deputy Secretary, Policy, Performance & Insights