20 December 2023

DOIA23/233

John Luke

fyi-request-24862-b8f6fd87@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

I refer to your request received on 24 November 2023, which has been considered under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA). You requested the following information:

I would like to request a list of vacancy (ministerial appointment only, e.g. board member, Lay member, Trustee etc) that the nomination period has been closed but still under consideration by the Ministry for Culture and Heritage or relevant Minister.

In your list, can you please included [sic] the date that vacancy been advertised, what method you have used to publicly advertise the position, how many application you have received and when the vacancy been closed as well.

As at 27 November 2023, the following appointments are under consideration by the Ministry:

- Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa one member/Chair position
- Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga one member position
- Māori Heritage Council one Chair and two member positions
- Te Māori Manaaki Taonga Trust three to five positions
- Broadcasting Commission (NZ On Air) one Chair position
- National Pacific Media Trust one Deputy Chair and one Treasurer position
- Sports Tribunal of New Zealand two member positions
- Integrity in Sport and Recreation Commission one Chair and six to eight member positions

Appointment processes were on hold during the post-election period, until new Ministers can be briefed. The decision to initiate a public call for nominations is made by the Minister.

Also, I would like to know if you have any future opening in 2024. e.g. the position that will call for nomination or likely to call for nomination in the year of 2024. Also, please supply any member's term that expired on the 2024.

The table below outlines the positions arising from members terms expiring in 2024, alongside potential additional openings. The Ministry does not control how many of these will involve a formal public call for nominations; this happens at the discretion of Ministers.

Name	Position	Expiry date of present term		
Arts Council of New Zealand Toi Aotearoa (Creative New Zealand)				
Caren Rangi	Chair	21 March 2024		
Michael Prentice	Deputy Chair	31 October 2024		
Hilary Poole	Member	31 October 2024		
Ane Tonga	Member	31 October 2024		
Heritage New Zealand Pouhere Taonga Board				
Sir John Clarke	Deputy Chair	30 April 2024		
James Blackburne	Member	31 December 2024		
Puawai Cairns	Member	31 December 2024		
Katherine Watson	Member	31 December 2024		
Māori Heritage Council				
Sir John Clarke	Chair	30 April 2024		
Puawai Cairns	Member	31 December 2024		
Ruth Smith	Member	31 December 2024		
Rau Hoskins	Member	31 December 2024		
Liz Mellish	Member	31 December 2023		
Tom Roa	Member	31 December 2023		
Museum of New Zealand Te Papa Tongarewa Board				
Hon Dame Fran Wilde	Chair	31 December 2024		
Caren Rangi	Member	31 December 2024		
New Zealand Film Commission Board				
Pania Gray	Member	31 October 2024		
Potential additional	Member	-		
New Zealand Symphony Orchestra Board				
Chris Finlayson	Member	30 June 2024		
Claire Szabó	Member	30 June 2024		

Potential additional	Member	-		
Te Māori Manaaki Taonga Trust				
Arapata Hakiwai	Member	30 June 2016*		
Garry Nicholas	Member	30 June 2016*		
Vacancy	Chair	-		
Potential additional (x2)	Member	-		
Broadcasting Commission (NZ On Air)				
Ruth Harley	Chair	30 April 2024		
John McCay	Member	30 June 2024		
Broadcasting Standards Authority				
Tupe Solomon-Tanoa'i	Member	30 September 2024		
National Pacific Media Trust (Pacific Media Network)				
Richard Broadbridge	Member	30 October 2024		
Holona Lui	Member	30 October 2024		
Jerome Mika	Member	30 October 2024		
Teremoana Rapley	Member	30 October 2024		
Vacancy	Deputy Chair	-		
Vacancy	Treasurer	-		
Potential additional	Member	-		
Eden Park Trust Board				
Renata Blair	Member	31 December 2024		
Alan Gourdie	Member	30 June 2024		
Victoria Toon	Member	31 December 2024		
Integrity in Sport and Recreation Commission				
New entity (7-9 members)	Chair and members	-		

Sport and Recreation New Zealand (Sport NZ)				
Raewyn Lovett	Chair	30 June 2024		
Duane Kale	Deputy Chair	31 July 2024		
Suri Barlett	Member	31 July 2024		
Robyn Cockburn	Member	31 July 2024		
Bill Moran	Member	30 June 2024		
Rakesh Naidoo	Member	31 October 2024		
Farah Palmer	Member	30 June 2024		
Karen Vercoe	Member	31 July 2024		
Sports Tribunal of New Zealand				
Pippa Hayward	Member	30 April 2024		
Paula Tesoriero	Member	30 April 2024		
Helen Tobin	Member	30 April 2024		
Potential additional (x3)	Member	-		

<sup>\*</sup>On Rollover

For more information relating to board appointments and nominations the Ministry supports our Ministers with, please visit: <a href="https://www.mch.govt.nz/our-work/governance-and-monitoring/board-appointments-and-nominations">https://www.mch.govt.nz/our-work/governance-and-monitoring/board-appointments-and-nominations</a>

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available via <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or freephone 0800 802 602.

Nāku noa, nā

**Emily Fabling** 

Pou Mataaho o Te Aka – Deputy Chief Executive, Policy and Sector Performance