1 March 2024

John Luke fyi-request-24794-00a692a4@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

Your request for Official information, reference: HNZ00032705

Thank you for your email on 19 November 2023, asking for the following under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act):

"I noted you have a National Kaitiaki Group https://www.tewhatuora.govt.nz/whats-happening/about-us/who-we-are/our-leadership-and-structure/expert-groups/national-kaitiaki-group/

May I ask how you called for public nomination and on what platform you have call for public nominations mostly recently, e.g. govt.jobs website. Also, how many applications you have received from the public and how many you have received from other nominating agencies such as TPK or Ministry of women etc.

Also, can you please supply the term of appointment and member's pay rate. Further, meeting minute for this group from 1st Jan 2022 to now."

Response

In 2020, a process was followed to appoint new NKG members following the State Service Commission's Board Appointment and Induction Guidelines. This process included a call for nominations, and shortlisting. A review panel of five members reviewed all candidates' applications and provided their recommendations.

The call for nominations was circulated to the following groups to distribute through their networks, on 6 March 2020 with nominations due on 27 March 2020:

- Te Puni Kōkiri
- Māori Women's Welfare League
- Ministry of Health
- Ministry for Women
- Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment
- Ministry for Social Development
- Tumu Whakarae (Localities (formerly DHB) Māori General Manager Network)
- Iwi Leaders Forum
- Te Mana Raraunga (Māori Data Sovereignty Network)

Fifteen applications were received in response to the expression of interest.

2023 Appointment process

In March 2023, a process was initiated to appoint new NKG members following the State Service Commission's Board Appointment and Induction Guidelines.

Expressions of interest were circulated through the following agencies and their networks:

- The National Cervical Screening Programme (NCSP) Kaimahi Rōpu
- Data Iwi Leaders' Group
- Hauora Iwi Leaders' Group
- Te Puni Kōkiri
- Māori Women's Welfare League
- Manatū Hauora (Ministry of Health)
- Ministry for Women
- Ministry of Business Innovation and Employment
- Ministry for Social Development

Six applications were received.

Due to the NKG (with support from Te Whatu Ora) planning to undertake a full review of their Terms of Reference (ToR), these applicants were subsequently notified of delays to the appointment process.

Ultimately, Te Whatu Ora and the NKG decided not to proceed with the expression of interest process due to the pending NKG ToR review. On 3 October 2023, all applicants were informed the expression of interest process was withdrawn. The applicants were also advised that once the new ToR are finalised, an expression of interest process will be opened, and they were encouraged to reapply.

NKG member terms and fees

NKG members are paid fees in accordance with the State Service Commission's framework for fees and statutory bodies. Current members of the National Kaitiaki Group's terms have expired, however, they hold office until they are reappointed or a successor is appointed.

Term	Fees	Role
20 June 2020- 20 June 2023	A flat daily rate of \$652 (exclusive of GST) for meetings (inclusive of preparation time)	Acting convenor
Current member	OR	
	a flat rate \$81.50 (exclusive of GST) per hour for meetings including preparation time.	
20 June 2020- 20 June 2023	A flat daily rate of \$500 (exclusive of GST) including preparation time	NKG member
Current member	OR	
	A flat rate of \$62.50 (exclusive of GST) per hour including preparation time.	

Terms of appointment and pay rates

The following people were appointed to the NKG by the Minister of Health:

- Dr Helen Wihongi, as the convener and member, for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment (resigned in February 2021).
- Tangihaere Macfarlane as a member, for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment (resigned in February 2021).
- Sandra Corbett, as a member, for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment.
 Ms Corbett was nominated by the Māori Women's Welfare League.
- Dr Teah Carlson, as a member for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment.
- Ebony Duff, as a member, for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment. Ms Duff was nominated by the New Zealand First party.
- Tasha Wharerau, as a member, for a three-year term commencing on the date of appointment.

With respect to your request for information about terms of appointment and member's pay rates, please refer to 'Document 1', enclosed. Where information is withheld under section 9 of the Act, I have considered the countervailing public interest in making this decision and consider that it does not outweigh the need to withhold at this time. Information deemed out of scope has also been redacted.

If you have any questions, you can contact us at hnzOIA@health.govt.nz.

If you are not happy with this response, you have the right to make a complaint to the Ombudsman. Information about how to do this is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or by phoning 0800 802 602.

As this information may be of interest to other members of the public, Te Whatu Ora may proactively release a copy of this response on our website. All requester data, including your name and contact details, will be removed prior to release.

Nāku iti noa, nā

Alana Ewe-Snow

Director Prevention

National Public Health Service