

10 November 2023

Our ref: OIA 107951

Tēnā koe John

Official Information Act request: Authorisation of Issuing Officers

Thank you for email of 30 October 2023, requesting, under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act), information relating to the authorisation of Issuing Officers. Specifically you requested:

"May I ask how many issuing offices are within New Zealand, do you have their name? How many are justice of peace and how many are court registrar. Do you have any officer is not judge, not justice of peace and not court registrar?

And please supply their term of appointment if possible."

There are currently 598 authorised Issuing Officers. The name of each authorised Issuing Officer is publicly notified in the New Zealand Gazette each time an authorisation or reauthorisation is made. These notices can be found at: gazette.govt.nz

Of the 598 total Issuing Officers, 288 are Justices of the Peace and 310 are Court Registry Officers. The only authorised Issuing Officers (other than judges) are Justices of the Peace or Court Registry Officers.

Pursuant to section 108(1) of the Search and Surveillance Act 2012, the Attorney-General may authorise any Justice of the Peace, Community Magistrate, Registrar, Deputy Registrar, or other person to act as an issuing officer for a term, not exceeding 3 years, specified in the notice of authorisation.

Nāku noa, nā

Wayne Newall

/re PM

Manager, Statutory Appointments and Specialist Functions