

15 November 2023

John Luke

fyi-request-24457-86943099@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John Luke

On 17 October 2023, you emailed the Ministry of Social Development (the Ministry) requesting, under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act), the following information:

*`Official Information request - Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal* 

May I request the full name of current member and their term of appointment, pay rate and ho much each member has been paid in the past 2 years.

Also may I request a job description for its member, lay member, chair and deputy chair.'

Please see **Table One** which shows the names of the current members of the Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal (SWDCT), their term of appointment, and their daily rates of payment.

The position description for SWDCT Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson is attached as **Appendix One**.

The position description for the SWDCT Registered Social Worker Member is attached as **Appendix Two.** 

The SWDCT does not have a separate position description for lay members. The only difference between a lay member and a member is that the lay member does not have to be a registered social worker.

The principles and purposes of the Official Information Act 1982 under which you made your request are:

- to create greater openness and transparency about the plans, work and activities of the Government,
- to increase the ability of the public to participate in the making and administration of our laws and policies and
- to lead to greater accountability in the conduct of public affairs.

This Ministry fully supports those principles and purposes.

If you wish to discuss this response with us, please feel free to contact OIA Requests@msd.govt.nz.

If you are not satisfied with this response regarding the Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal, you have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or 0800 802 602.

Ngā mihi nui

Sarah Quigan

8Marig

Manager

**Official Information Team** 



Table One: The current members of the Social Workers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal, the term of their appointments and allocated daily rates.

#	Name	Term of appointment	Daily Rate \$
1	Catherine Garvey - Chair	14 November 2022- 13 November 2025	700.00
2	Winston McCarthy - Deputy Chair	19 November 2021- 18 November 2024	700.00
3	Selma Scott - Deputy Chair	14 November 2022- 18 November 2024	700.00
4	Andrea McKenzie*	12 October 2023-31 December 2026	450.00
5	Jackie Pearse*	12 October 2023-31 December 2026	450.00
6	Sonya Hunt*	12 October 2023-31 December 2026	450.00
7	Fiona Wilson	15 March 2021-14 March 2024	450.00
8	Sue Jarvis	21 June 2021-20 June 2024	450.00
9	Nikki Geeson	21 June 2021-20 June 2024	450.00
10	Iani Nemani	21 June 2021-20 June 2024	450.00
11	Nicole Walker	19 November 2021-18 November 2024	450.00

## Note

• Period of appointment which is longer than three years was adjusted for possible future election cycle period of restraint.