

11 September 2023

Ross Browne fyi-request-23918-967a4ec9@requests.fyi.org.nz

Dear Ross

Official Information Request Our Ref: OIA 2023-0182

I refer to your official information request received on 22 August 2023 for:

"Please provide a list of all senior leadership appointments that are subject to a recommendation by the PSC, and the date when the term of the incumbent ends".

Our Response

Under the Public Service Act 2020, the Public Service Commissioner (the Commissioner) is responsible for the appointment of chief executives of Public Service departments, departmental agencies and functional chief executives.

Since 2018, Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission (the Commission) has been publicly releasing Chief Executive appointment papers as part of our business-as-usual practice. These appointment papers can be found on the Commission's website <u>here</u>.

Information being released

Outlined in the table below are the current Public Service Chief Executives, listed by the Chief Executive, Agency, who recommended the appointment and the term end date.,

Name	Agency	Recommended by	Term End Date
Mr Chris Seed	Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade	Public Service Commissioner	31 January 2024
Mr Andrew Bridgman	Ministry of Defence	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2024
Ms Rebecca Kitteridge	Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet	Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2024
Ms Renee Graham	Social Wellbeing Agency	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	18 July 2024

Level 10, RBNZ Building | 2 The Terrace | PO Box 329 Wellington 6140 | New Zealand Phone +64 4 495 6600

Name	Agency	Recommended by	Term End Date
Dr Caralee McLiesh	Treasury	Public Service Commissioner	15 September 2024
Mr Dave Samuels	Te Puni Kokiri	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	15 September 2024
Ms Iona Holsted	Ministry of Education	Public Service Commissioner	4 December 2024
Ms Lil Anderson	Te Arawhiti	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	1 December 2024
Mr Mark Sowden	Statistics New Zealand	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	20 January 2025
Ms Katrina Casey	Cyclone Recovery	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	15 March 2025
Mr Nick Pole	Education Review Office	Public Service Commissioner	20 June 2025
Mr Chappie Te Kani	Oranga Tamariki	Public Service Commissioner	30 September 2025
Ms Carolyn Tremain	Business, Innovation and Employment	Public Service Commissioner	30 September 2025
Mr Mervin Singham	Ministry for Ethnic Communities	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2026
Ms Karen Chang	Serious Fraud Office	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	25 April 2026
Mr Arran Jones	Independent Children's Monitor	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	3 May 2026
Mr Dave Gawn	National Emergency Management Agency	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	31 August 2026
Ms Penny Nelson	Department of Conservation	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	31 October 2026

Name	Agency	Recommended by	Term End Date
Mr Andrew Crisp	Ministry of Housing and Urban Development	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	2 May 2027
Mr Andrew Kibblewhite	Ministry of Justice	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	2 May 2027
Ms Christine Stevenson	NZ Customs	Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2027
Mr Ray Smith	Ministry for Primary Industries	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2027
Mr Peter Mersi	Inland Revenue Department	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2027
Mr Paul James	Department of Internal Affairs	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	30 June 2027
Ms Debbie Power	Ministry of Social Development	Public Service Commissioner	1 August 2027
Ms Paula Tesoriero	Ministry for Disabled People	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	31 August 2027
Mr Leauanae Laulu Mac Leauanae	Ministry of Culture and Heritage	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	16 October 2027
Ms Kellie Coombes	Ministry for Women	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	25 October 2027
Dr Diana Sarfati	Ministry of Health	Public Service Commissioner	30 November 2027
Ms Audrey Sonerson	Ministry of Transport	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	11 December 2027
Ms Gerardine Clifford- Lidstone	Ministry for Pacific Peoples	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	31 January 2028

Name	Agency	Recommended by	Term End Date
Mr James Palmer	Ministry for the Environment	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	29 February 2028
Mr Jeremy Lightfoot	Department of Corrections	Public Service Commissioner	29 February 2028
Mr Andrew Hampton	New Zealand Security Intelligence Service	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	16 April 2028
Mr Rami Rahal	Cancer Control Agency	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	9 July 2028
Mr Andrew Clark	Government Communications Security Bureau	Public Service Commissioner	29 October 2028
Ms Adrienne Meikle (Acting)	Land Information New Zealand	Deputy Public Service Commissioner	

If you wish to discuss this decision with us, please feel free to contact <u>Ministerial.Services@publicservice.govt.nz</u>.

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <u>www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</u> or freephone 0800 802 602.

Please note that we intend to publish this letter (with your personal details removed) on the Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission's website.

Yours sincerely

Nicky Dirks Manager – Ministerial and Executive Services Te Kawa Mataaho Public Service Commission