

4 May 2023

45 Pipitea Street, Thorndon, Wellington 6011
PO Box 805, Wellington 6140
Phone +64 4 495 7200
Email OIA@dia.govt.nz
Website www.dia.govt.nz

John Luke fyi-request-22367-2d0dd359@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

# Your Official Information Act 1982 request, reference OIA 2223-0695

I am responding to your email of 3 April 2023 to Te Tari Taiwhenua | the Department of Internal Affairs requesting information under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act). Regarding nominations for the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust's (the Trust) Board, you requested the following information:

- 1. How were the calls for public nomination made, and on what platforms did Te Tari Taiwhenua advertise the calls;
- 2. How many applications were received from the public, how many were received from other nominating agencies;
- 3. How many have been shortlisted, and when is the recruitment process expected to conclude; and
- 4. The current member's name and term of appointment.

I have provided an answer to each of your questions below.

# Item one

Te Tari Taiwhenua advertised the nomination round for the Trust's Board on its public website, <a href="www.dia.govt.nz">www.dia.govt.nz</a>. A nomination/expression of interest form, a candidate information sheet describing the role and selection criteria, and the role overview were also available in the section of the website about appointments to statutory bodies, <a href="www.dia.govt.nz/Appointments-to-Statutory-Bodies">www.dia.govt.nz/Appointments-to-Statutory-Bodies</a>.

Additionally, Te Tari Taiwhenua submitted a request for nominations to the agencies that provide nominations for statutory bodies. This included the Ministry for Women, Te Puni Kōkiri, the Ministry for Pacific Peoples, and the Ministry for Ethnic Communities.

### Item two

Te Tari Taiwhenua has received ten expressions of interest for the Trust's Board, with eight expressions of interest coming from the public, and two through the Ministry for Ethnic Communities' nominations service.

#### Item three

Candidate shortlisting for the Trust's Board has not yet been completed. Te Tari Taiwhenua expects the appointment process to be completed before 30 June 2023.

### Item four

Please refer to **Appendix A** for the list of current members of the Trust's Board, and their appointment terms.

The current convention of the Board dictates that members only serve two consecutive terms of appointment on a statutory body.

#### Access to the Ombudsman

You have the right, under section 28(3) of the Act, to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this response. Information about how to make a complaint is available at <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or freephone 0800 802 602.

We intend to publish our response to your request on <a href="www.dia.govt.nz">www.dia.govt.nz</a>. This letter, with your personal details removed, will be published in its entirety. Publishing responses increases the availability of information to the public and is consistent with the Act's purpose of enabling more effective participation in the making and administration of laws and policies and promoting the accountability of Ministers and officials.

Nāku noa, nā

Anita Balakrishnan

**Tumuaki I Director Ministerial, Monitoring and Capability** 

Baran

Appendix A: List of current members on the Winston Churchill Memorial Trust's Board

Name	Date of original appointment	Expiry date of present term
Joy Tracey (Chair)	1 July 2017	30 June 2023
Adina Jane Thorn	1 July2017	30 June 2023
lan Henry McDonald	1 January 2022	30 June 2023
Fuimaono Semi Asafo	15 August 2021	31 December 2027
Benjamin Patrick William Brooks	1 January 2022	31 December 2027
Alison Pauline Cadman	1 January 2022	31 December 2027
Dr David Douglas Charles Ivory	1 January 2022	31 December 2027
Jason Leroy Sebestian	1 January 2022	31 December 2027
Dr Rogena Roger Paul Sterling	1 January 2022	31 December 2027