



1 September 2022

John Luke

fyi-request-20156-b485ee9e@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

Thank you for your email of 6 August 2022 to the Ministry of Education requesting the following information:

I noted from the report,

https://women.govt.nz/sites/public_files/2021%20Stocktake%20of%20Gender%2C%20Māori%2C%20Pacific%20and%20Ethnic%20Diversity%20on%20Public%20Sector%20Boards%20and%20Committees.pdf

Page 13, MoE has appointed 42 Māori, 11 pacific and 3 Asian member to its boards. can you please provide the name of the each person and the position for appointments regards to the above?

Your request has been considered under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act).

We are providing you with a table listing names, titles, positions, and ethnicity of appointees of public sector boards and committees administered by the Ministry of Education, attached below as **Annex One**.

Please note, the Ministry now proactively publishes official information responses on our website. As such, we may publish this response on our website after five working days. Your name and contact details will be removed.

Nāku noa, nā

Rob Campbell Group Manager

Te Puna Hanganga, Matihiko

OIA: 1293121

Annex One – Table listing names, titles, positions, and ethnicity of appointees of public sector boards and committees administered by the Ministry of Education

Education sector body	Position	Title/Honorific	First name	Surname	Ethnicity
Education New Zealand	Member		Rachael	Tuwhangai	Māori
NCEA Review Professional Advisory Group	Member		Campbell	Dewes	Māori
NCEA Review Professional Advisory Group	Member	MNZM	Louise	Ānaru-Tangira	Māori
NCEA Review Professional Advisory Group	Member		Sophie	Tukukino	Māori
NCEA Review Professional Advisory Group	Member		Natalie	Faitala	Pacific
New Zealand Council for Educational Research	Deputy Chair	Associate Professor	Jodie	Hunter	Pacific
New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO	Member	MNZM, JP	Vanisa	Dhiru	Asian
New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO	Member	Dr	Daniel	Hikuroa	Māori
New Zealand National Commission for UNESCO	Member	Emeritus Professor Tagaloatele, CNZM	Peggy	Peggy Fairbairn- Dunlop	Pacific
New Zealand Qualifications Authority	Deputy Chair		Pania	Gray	Māori
New Zealand Qualifications Authority	Member	Aiolupotea	Lili	Tuioti	Pacific
New Zealand Qualifications Authority	Member		Antony	Royal	Māori

Education sector body	Position	Title/Honorific	First name	Surname	Ethnicity
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member	Associate Professor	Linda	Te Aho	Māori
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member	Dr	Melanie	Riwai-Couch	Māori
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member	Dr, MNZM	Reuben	Collier	Māori
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member	Dr	Te Tuhi	Robust	Māori
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member		Phillip	Heeney	Māori
Ngarimu VC and 28th (Māori) Battalion Memorial Scholarship Fund Board	Member		Reweti	Ropiha	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Chair		Rachael	Selby	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member		Anne	Carter	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member		Barry	Lyver	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member	Dr	Arini	Loader	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member		Ransfield	Keelan	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member		Mark	Taratoa	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member	Reverend Dr	Rangi	Nicolson	Māori
Ōtaki and Porirua Trusts Board	Member		Denise	Hapeta	Māori

		Title/Honorific	First name	Surname	Ethnicity
Pacific Education Foundation	Chair	Dr	Palatasa	Havea	Pacific
Pacific Education Foundation	Co-Chair		George	Gavet	Pacific
Pacific Education Foundation	Member	Dr	Litea	Meo-Sewabu	Pacific
Pacific Education Foundation	Member		Bradley	Watson	Pacific / Asian
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu	Member		Maxine	Moana-Tuwhangai	Māori
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu	Chair	MNZM	Barbara	Ala'alatoa	Pacific
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu	Member	MNZM	Mele	Wendt	Pacific
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu	Member		Ruma	Karaitiana	Māori
Te Aho o Te Kura Pounamu	Member		Simon	Heath	Māori
Te Pae Roa	Member		Jason	Ake	Māori
Te Pae Roa	Member	ONZM	Moe	Milne	Māori
Te Pae Roa	Chair	Dr, MNZM	Wayne	Ngata	Māori
Te Pae Roa	Member		Rāhui	Papa	Māori
Te Pae Roa	Member		Miriama	Prentice	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Chair	Dr	Wayne	Ngata	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member	Professor	Wiremu	Doherty	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member	Dr	Eruera	Prendergast-Tarena	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member		Mereraina	Piripi	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member		Mamaeroa	Merito	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member	Dr	Te Ahukaramū Charles	Royal	Māori
Te Taumata Aronui	Member		Brendon	Green	Māori