

Ref: NZGB OIA 2022-0004

31 May 2022

Cody C

**By email**: <u>fyi-request-19323-28fe6dcb@requests.fyi.org.nz</u>

Tēnā koe Cody

## Response to your official information request

Thank you for your official information request received on 11 May 2022. You have asked 'Why have you only officially recorded one Christchurch suburb (Cracroft, 1998) given there are many?'.

One of the functions of the New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa under the New Zealand Geographic Board (Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa Act) 2008 is to officially name suburbs. The Board responds to proposals from the community rather than proactively making proposals itself. To date the Board has received only two proposals to officially name Christchurch suburbs – Cracroft (gazetted as official in 1998) and St Albans (gazetted as official in 2011).

However, the Board is now running a fast-track programme to make existing unofficial place names official where they are uncontroversial and alternative names do not exist, see: <a href="https://www.linz.govt.nz/regulatory/place-names/approving-recorded-unofficial-place-names-official">https://www.linz.govt.nz/regulatory/place-names/approving-recorded-unofficial-place-names-official</a>. The Board's consideration of the 68 suburb names in Christchurch City, scheduled for 2025, should result in additional suburb names being officially recognised.

You have the right to ask the Ombudsman to investigate and review this response. Information about the how to do this is at: <a href="https://www.ombudsman.parliament.nz">www.ombudsman.parliament.nz</a> or phone 0800 802 602.

If you wish to discuss this information, please contact Wendy Shaw, Secretary to the Board at: wshaw@linz.govt.nz or on 04 4600581.

Nāku noa, nā

Anselm Haanen

Chairperson, New Zealand Geographic Board Ngā Pou Taunaha o Aotearoa