This is an HTML version of an attachment to the Official Information request 'Information about ODESC governance boards and their committees'.

Justice Centre | 19 Aitken Street 
DX SX10088 | Wellington 
T 04 918 8800 | F 04 918 8820 
[email address] | 
[FYI request #15425 email] 
Our ref: OIA 89732 
Dear Harold 
Official Information Act request: Anti-Money Laundering and Countering Financing of 
Terrorism National Coordination Committee 
Thank you for your email of 28 July 2021 to the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet 
requesting, under the Official Information Act 1982 (the Act), information regarding four Security 
and Intelligence Board sub-committees. 
On 28 July 2021, the part of your request relating to the Anti-Money Laundering and Countering 
Financing of Terrorism (AML/CFT) National Coordination Committee was transferred to the 
Ministry of Justice for response. Specifically, you requested: 
1)  A copy of their terms of reference 
2)  The identity and job title of their chairperson, and the agency they are seconded 

from if they are a secondee 
3)  The identity of every agency represented in their membership 
If any of these sub-committees have been transferred out of the DPMC or dissolved, I’d 
like my request to be taken to mean the current information as at the date they left DPMC. 
In this case I would also like to request the date that these subcommittees left DPMC and 
what agency is now hosting them (if any). 

Section 50 of the AML/CFT Act provides for the establishment of the AML/CFT Coordination 
Committee by the Ministry of Justice Chief Executive. This function has never been hosted by 
In response to your first request, I have enclosed a copy of the AML/CFT Coordination 
Committees’ terms of reference. 
In response to your second request, I am the current chairperson appointed by the Secretary for 
Justice (Brendan Gage, General Manager, Criminal Justice Policy).  

In response to your third request, Under the AML/CFT Act, the minimum membership of the 
Committee consists of: 
a)  a representative of the Ministry of Justice; 
b)  a representative from the New Zealand Customs Service; 
c)  a representative from each of the supervisory agencies, and; 
d)  a representative of the New Zealand Police Commissioner. 
The following agencies have a standing invitation to attend and participate in the Committee 
a)  Inland Revenue Department 
b)  Serious Fraud Office 
c)  New Zealand Intelligence Community 
d)  Ministry of Defence 
e)  Ministry of Business, Innovation, and Employment 
f)  Ministry of Foreign Affairs and Trade 
g)  Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet 
If you are not satisfied with my response, you have the right to complain to the Ombudsman 
under section 28(3) of the Act. The Ombudsman may be contacted by email at 
[email address] 
Yours sincerely 
Brendan Gage 
General Manager, Criminal Justice Policy 
Encl:  AML/CFT National Coordination Committee terms of reference