

2 September 2022

John Luke

fyi-request-20155-2b77deac@requests.fyi.org.nz

Tēnā koe John

I refer to your request received on 6 August 2022, which has been considered under the Official Information Act 1982 (OIA), for the following information:

"I noted from the report.

https://women.govt.nz/sites/public_files/2021%20Stocktake%20of%20Gender%2C%20Māori%2C%20Pacific%20and%20Ethnic%20Diversity%20on%20Public%20Sector%20Boards%20and%20Committees.pdf

Page 13, Ministry has appointed 26 Māori, 15 pacific, 3 Asian and 1 MLEAA member to its boards. can you please provide the name of each person and the position for appointments regards to the above?"

Please find enclosed Appendix 1 which includes 44 names and positions of each person who has provided Manatū Taonga with information about their ethnicity. To maintain privacy over ethnicity data, we have not disclosed individuals' ethnic backgrounds.

Please note that Teremoana Rapley identifies as being in two ethnic groups and Caren Rangi, Materoa Dodd, Puawai Cairns and Sir John Clarke have been appointed to multiple Crown entity Boards, these variables are considered individually in the total count.

You have the right to seek an investigation and review by the Ombudsman of this decision. Information about how to make a complaint is available at www.ombudsman.parliament.nz or freephone 0800 802 602.

Please note that we intend to publish this letter (with your personal details removed) on the Ministry's website.

Nāku noa, nā

Emily Fabling

Pou Mataaho o Te Aka - Deputy Chief Executive Policy and Sector Performance

Appendix 1

Name	Position Held
Caren Rangi	Chair
Briar Grace-Smith	Member
Dean Whiting	Member
Riria Hotere-Barnes	Member
Janine Morrell-Gunn	Member
Kura Moeahu	Member
Ane Tonga	Member
John Chen Ong	Member
Paula Jalfon	Member
Pania Gray	Member
Sandra Kailahi	Member
Jacinta Ruru	Member
James Daniels	Member
Caren Rangi	Member
Keita Kohere	Member
Materoa Dodd	Member
Puawai Cairns	Member
Sir John Clarke	Member
Sir John Clarke	Chair
Ruth Smith	Member
Liz Mellish	Member
Patrick McGarvey	Member
Materoa Dodd	Member
Tom Roa	Member
Puawai Cairns	Member
Fiona Cassidy	Member
John MacDonald	Member
Dr Farah Palmer	Member
Karen Vercoe	Member
Beatrice Faumauina	Member
Suri Bartlett	Member
Rakesh Naidoo	Member
Keven Mealamu	Member
Renata Blair	Member
Philip Broughton	Member
Sarona Aiono-losefa	Member
Saimoni Lealea	Member
Maria Fuata	Member
Sholan Ivaiti	Member
Richard Broadbridge	Member
Holona Lui	Member
Teremoana Rapley	Member
Jerome Mika	Member
Tupe Solomon-Tanoa'i	Member

